

16<sup>th</sup> April 2024

To Whom it may concern

For the avoidance of doubt the Musicians Company is acting independently in its objection to the Albert Hall Bill as presented.

We have seen 'Notice of Challenge' from the promoters of the Bill that they are objecting to our locus standi to petition against the Bill on the grounds this Company is not affected by the provisions contained within the Bill.

The art of Music and the interests of Musicians are at the heart of all this Company does and the Company's Royal Charter (1950) states that one of the objects of the Company is to foster and encourage the Art or Science of Musicians of London.

We believe that the private sale of tickets by Members of the Corporation of Arts and Sciences is self-serving and contrary to the purpose set out in the Hall's 19th century Charter "the advancement of art and science".

Furthermore, we are concerned by the allegation that the Hall is operating ultra vires an Act of Parliament in order to further the interests of Members of the Corporation at the financial and reputational cost to musicians, many of whom are members of our livery. We believe that the main purpose of the Bill is to authorise this practice.

For the avoidance of doubt the minutes of our recent Court meeting on April 9th will show that Mr Lyttelton recused himself in favour of myself as Senior Warden for discussion of our petition against the Bill.

The Rt Revd Graeme Knowles Senior Warden



## THE COURT

Master

The Hon Richard Lyttelton

Senior Warden

The Right Reverend Graeme Knowles CVO

**Junior Warden** Mr Alun Hughes

**Honorary Treasurer** Mr John McCuin

**Immediate Pastmaster** 

Mr Jeff Kelly JP

**Pastmasters** 

Mr Paul Campion

Alderman Sir Andrew Parmley

Sir Anthony Cleaver

Mrs Kathleen Duncan OBE

Mr Andrew Morris

Lady Brewer OBE

Mr Michael Lewin

Mr John Nichols

**Honorary Assistants** 

Mr John Morley

Mr Jeffery Lockett MBE

Mr Adrian Davis

Mrs Jan Lowy

Mr Gavin Barrett

Mr Nigel Tully MBE

Mr Jonathan Rennert

Mr John Rubinstein

Dr Andreas Prindl CBE

Mr Leslie East OBE

Mrs Petronella Burnett-Brown

Mr Maurice Summerfield

Mr Michael Hockney MBE

The Clerk

Mr Hugh Lloyd

**Court Assistants** 

Mr Adrian Mumford

Mr Carl Jackson MVO

Miss Catherine McGuinness CBE

Mr David Cresswell

Professor John Harle

Mr Alexander Spofforth

Mr Stuart Barr

Mr Benjamin Costello

Mr John Minch

Professor Vanessa Latarche