

The Scottish Parliament Pàrlamaid na h-Alba

Mr Tom Goldsmith Clerk of the House House of Commons London SW1A 0AA Clerk/Chief Executive The Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP

Tel: 0131-348-5305

david.mcgill@parliament.scot

20 March 2024

Dear Tom

Legislative Consent: Economic Activity of Public Bodies (Overseas Matters) Bill - UK Legislation

I am writing to notify you that, on 20 March 2024, the Scottish Parliament agreed not to consent to the Economic Activity of Public Bodies (Overseas Matters) Bill, which is currently under consideration at Westminster.

Given the Bill is of interest to all parts of the UK, I am also writing today to Simon Burton, Clerk of the Parliaments, Manon Antoniazzi, Chief Executive and Clerk of the Senedd and Lesley Hogg, Clerk/ Chief Executive of the Northern Ireland Assembly, to inform them of the Scottish Parliament's decision.

Yours sincerely,

Amid Migin

DAVID McGILL Clerk/Chief Executive

I attach the associated memorandum and extract of the Minutes of Proceedings.



The Scottish Parliament Pàrlamaid na h-Alba

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

Parliamentary Year 3, No. 92, Session 6

Meeting of the Parliament

Wednesday 20 March 2024

Note: (DT) signifies a decision taken at Decision Time.

The meeting opened at 2.00 pm.

4. Economic Activity of Public Bodies (Overseas Matters) Bill - UK

Legislation: The Minister for Community Wealth and Public Finance (Tom Arthur) moved S6M-12551—That the Parliament notes the legislative consent memorandum lodged by the Scottish Government on 19 July 2023; agrees not to give consent to the Economic Activity of Public Bodies (Overseas Matters) Bill; believes that the Bill would represent a wholly unnecessary and unwelcome limitation of the Scottish Ministers' executive competence, and would act to stifle democracy, and calls on the UK Government to amend the Bill to remove the Scottish Ministers from its scope.

The motion was agreed to ((DT) by division: For 88, Against 27, Abstentions 0).

The meeting closed at 6.32 pm.

David McGill Clerk of the Parliament 20 March 2024